My weekly goals: 22-26 October 2012

Announcing my weekly post on accountability! 🙂

I have decided to post my goals of each week as a way of accountability. I wanted to join a writing group but when I finally found one it was not possible to join because the deadline for signing in was over. I have already discussed about the advantages of participating in a writing group and the accountability in a previous post that you can read here.

The writing group I found is organized by an academic blogger, Dame Eleanor Hull and she does a great job with it! The writing group is public so you can see how such a group functions as well as comments, suggestions, discussions, etc.

Yesterday, while I was setting my weekly goals and planning my weekly working schedule, I thought that I can simply post my goals in the blog!

I have the habit to split my weekly goals in terms of three categories: task related goals, number of working hours, and time management goals.

These are my goals for this week (22 – 26 October 2012):

1st goal(task related):

  • Finish section ”the role of liter.review in GT”
  • Write section about methods of data collection
  • Read Findings and start Discussion
  • Find ways to interpret intersectionality and findings

2nd goal (amount of pure working time):

Work minimum of 5 hours/day (10 pomodoro sessions) and maximum 6 hours/day (12 pomodoro sessions)

3rd goal (time management):

  • Be at office early in the morning (around 08:00). Work 3 hours before lunch.
  • Keep timer (pomodoro) when checking mail/news/social media to help me not to loose sense of time while surfing the net.

 

Well, these are my weekly goals! Have you set any goals for this week?

What would you like to accomplish this week?

Anyone who is interested and wants to join is welcome!!!

Write your goals in the comments!

Your goals don’t have to be specific or hour-related of course. It can be anything you set as a weekly goal!

 

4 Comments

Filed under Managing time, Self Development, Weekly goals, Writing

4 responses to “My weekly goals: 22-26 October 2012

  1. thirdworldbellekk

    I love this idea of being held accountable for your weekly goals- and in a global setting! I have never heard of a writing group before – I will definitely be checking it out! Thank you for the link!
    My goals for this week:
    – identify key papers on the overview and history of pharmacogenetics
    – write introductory chapter, edited and with references
    – design final experiment and order reagents

    Good luck with your goals!!!

  2. Thanks for sharing your goals!
    I really like that you set clear and discrete goals!

    Accountability is a very useful strategy, at least for me. I hope it will also motivate you to be productive during the week!

    Next Monday (29/10) I will post:
    – What I have achieved –even if I haven’t achieved my goals.
    – My reflections on what helped me to achieve my goals or why I didn’t achieve them
    – My goals for the next week

    You are most welcome to comment!!!

    The important thing is –when we don’t achieve our weekly goals – to accept it; not feel guilty but go on and continue. I managed to achieve my weekly goals only 1 time, but that doesn’t mean that I should stop trying. It means that I should learn how to set realistic goals.

    Looking forward to hear you next week!

  3. Pingback: November: the Academic Writing Month of accountability! | The PhD…"war"

  4. Pingback: My weekly goals: 29 October – 2 November 2012 | The PhD…"war"

Leave a comment